The Liebster Award

Reading By Starlight Award Banner (2).png

Image result for liebster awardIf you’d read my recent February Wrap Up, you’d know that It’s been a while since I’ve actually finished a book. I’ve been meandering through A Discovery of Witches not because I’m bored but because I actually don’t want it to end. Then I picked up After, another 500+ page book because I seriously have no chill. I promise, more reviews are on the way soon but, in the mean time, it’s about time that I do the Liebster Award.

Firstly, because I get into the Award questions, I have to send a big shout out and a huge thank you to the lovely Claire over at Cup of Books. Thanks so much for the tag, Claire and I’m sorry it took me so long to get around to answering your questions.

 

Body Text_

☆ Answer the 11 questions you’ve been asked
☆ Nominate 11 other bloggers
☆ Ask your nominees 11 questions
☆ Let them know you’ve nominated them

Body Text_ (1)

1. What is your favorite book quote?

That is one hard question, but the quote that resonates with me on a personal level, the quote I always seem to be coming back to is Rhys’s speech in A Court of Wings and Ruin. I’ve learned the hard way that we can’t pick and choose our family but true family are the ones who love unconditionally.

“It is the family you make, not the family you are born into that matters. I would not have known what it is to truly hope, even when the world tells you to despair”

2. If you could choose a book to have been able to study in school, what would it have been?

Hands down, hands down The Great Gatsby. My required reading during school down right sucked. I was assigned books like Hating Alison Ashley, Dear Nobody and the Giver. *Shudders*. The Great Gatsby is one of my favorite classics and without arrogance, If I did study it in either my AP English or Literature classes I would have walked away with an A. Stupid school syllabus.

3. What is your favorite season and why?

The Australian summer. Victoria, Australia has the best surf and sand and I love driving the Great Ocean Road. You haven’t been to a beach until you’ve toured the beaches of Victoria. Forget Bondi in Sydney – Bells beach and the hidden coves and bays along the craggy vistas of the Great Ocean Road are the place to be. They are secluded gems that the tourists miss as they flock to the trashy, tourist locations but the Aussie locals adore.

4. Which Hogwarts house are you in?

Why it’s the scarlet and gold clad house of Gryffindor of course. “Where dwell the brave at heart, their daring, nerve, and chivalry set Gryffindors apart”. I am a proud Gryffindor, often seen wandering Melbourne’s urban streets in my woolen scarf and matching beanie. [I still maintain that my Hogwarts letter was somehow lost].

5. How do you conquer your TBR?

Let’s be real – I don’t. That thing will follow my until the day I take my last breath. It’s almost impossible for me to follow my set TBRs and I accomplish more, in terms of my reading goals, when I’m reading purely for my own pleasure. I like to go with my moods.

6. What is your favorite bookish memory?

If you asked me next month I’d say meeting Sarah J. Maas at her Kingdom of Ash tour event An Afternoon With Sarah J. Maas. But, because I’m still counting down the days I’m going to go with my recent trip to The Store of Requirement. Located in the upmarket, hipster district of Collingwood, just a tram ride past Parliament, The Store of Requirement is the destination for any Witch or Wizard (muggles who?).  You can read my full post about the field trip here.

7. What are your favorite TV series?

At the moment I am obsessing over A Discovery of Witches. Like my reading, my favorite shows change on my current mood. Right now I’m all about Diana and Mathew’s sizzling chemistry and the study of Alchemy. Other favorites include; Outlander, Downton Abbey, Stranger Things and my guilty pleasure; Pretty Little Liars.

8. Where is your favorite place to read?

Reading by starlight of course! I love to snuggle in bed underneath my fairy lights with a cup of tea while the curtains billow in the summer night breeze. It’s magical. The night, and it’s dappled moonlight, is that time when anything seems possible.

9. What made you start a book blog?

I just had to find a medium where I could hone my writing and write about what I’m passionate about. That and the fact that my friends aren’t really into books so I had to find an outlet where I could gush and rave about my favorite characters and authors. I actually can’t remember exactly why I started – I’d probably just read an amazing book and was inspired.

10. What one trope would you get rid of from books?

Another hard one. Hmmm… I am actually a pretty trope-y reader, if I’m being honest. I love a good love triangle and I have a weakness for brooding love interests. I guess if I had to eliminate one trope, I’d pick the rebellion trope. Unpopular opinion but it’s getting a little tired now.

11. If you could tell your younger self one thing, what would it be? 

Just know that you, yes you, are enough. You are so enough.

Body Text_ (2)

You know the drill – please don’t feel obligated or pressure to participate in this award if you’ve already done so, but I nominate these incredible bloggers:

☆ Carly | Reading Is My Kind of Thing
☆ Brianna | Brianna The Bookworm
☆ Taylor | Bloggable Books
☆ Luna | Bookish Luna
☆ Kay | Hammock Of Books 
☆ Siobhan | Siobhan’s Novelties
☆ Jess & Teagan | Fiction No Chaser
☆ Annie | Dreaming Of Cats
☆ Claire | Cup Of Books
☆ Aline | Fully Booked
☆ Monika | Lauregalie

Body Text_ (1)

☆ Who is your ultimate book boyfriend and why?
☆ The world is ending tomorrow – what is the last book you’d want to read?
☆ What literary school besides Hogwarts [be it magical or otherwise] do you want to attend?
☆ Do you read classics? If so what is your go-to classic?
☆ Who is your, gun to head, OTP?
☆ Recommend a book that you practically lived and breathed.
☆ What is your favorite bookish item and why?
☆ Trilogies or duologies?
☆ What is your go-to destination or holiday read?
☆ How did you come up with your Blogging name?
☆ Can you name the very worst book you’ve ever read? What made you dislike it?

Alexandra

 

14 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Aw that quote from Rhys is so important and meaningful, I love it 😊 And omg yesss my TBR will literally haunt me forever, it is impossible to finish everything 😂 I can’t follow set TBRs either! I can work with an overall, across the year sort of books I want to read, but I hate having restrictions on what I read. 😅 Thank you so much for tagging me, I loved reading your answers! ❤

    Like

  2. You are the sweetest! I can’t wait to get to these questions. I loved reading your answers too.

    That Rhys quote is perfect, I love found families. Also the Great Ocean Road is AMAZING. I need more excuses to go there but those windy roads make me nervous every time haha.

    I am literally scouring the internet for SJM tickets. If I don’t get them I’m counting on a full blown report from you girl 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you with the SJM tickets! 😉

      The Great Ocean Road is very windy! Those stunning views and so worth it though! My mum’s husband-to-be actually lives in Geelong so we go to Lorne and Queenscliff a lot. I love the little shops and stores in Queenscliff and Lorne has the actual BEST mussels!

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for the tag Lexie!! Oh my goodness The Great Gatsby is one of my favorite classics too. We studied it in my AP Language class and then we got to watch the movie too – the one with Leonardo DiCaprio! Also, that’s really cool that you’re a Gryffindor. I don’t come across many Gryffindors so I’m glad I know one now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwww – of course you studied the Great Gatsby in class and watched Leo on the big screen. Lucky you! 😉 I swear that sometimes it feels as though I’m the only one who didn’t study the Great Gatsby??? I demand a do-over haha! That being said though, maybe I wouldn’t have loved it as much if I’d studied it? That’s what I’ll keep telling myself! 😂 😂 😂

      Like

  4. Thank you so much for tagging me! Considering I’ve only just started blogging, I already feel welcomed into this community! I love the Great Gatsby as well, It was required reading for me in highschool and I’m happy that it was. I actually really enjoyed The Giver as well, though it seems you didn’t haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment