Review: A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

Book Cover Nesta Archeron has always been prickly-proud, swift to anger, and slow to forgive. And ever since being forced into the Cauldron and becoming High Fae against her will, she’s struggled to find a place for herself within the strange, deadly world she inhabits. Worse, she can’t seem to move past the horrors of the war with Hybern and all she lost in it.

The one person who ignites her temper more than any other is Cassian, the battle-scarred warrior whose position in Rhysand and Feyre’s Night Court keeps him constantly in Nesta’s orbit. But her temper isn’t the only thing Cassian ignites. The fire between them is undeniable, and only burns hotter as they are forced into close quarters with each other.

Meanwhile, the treacherous human queens who returned to the Continent during the last war have forged a dangerous new alliance, threatening the fragile peace that has settled over the realms. And the key to halting them might very well rely on Cassian and Nesta facing their haunting pasts.

Against the sweeping backdrop of a world seared by war and plagued with uncertainty, Nesta and Cassian battle monsters from within and without as they search for acceptance-and healing-in each other’s arms.

4.5 Stars

Well it’s been three years but Sarah J. Maas is back with A Court of Silver Flames proving once again that nobody writes wounded characters like she does.

Now before I launch into my review, a quick disclaimer. This review is completely spoiler free but there’s no way to talk about A Court of Silver Flames without talking about the rest of the series. So, if you haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses [umm…where the heck have you BEEN???] this probably isn’t the post for you.

A Court of Silver Flames is the newest installment of the internationally bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series. But the first thing you need to know is that A Court of Silver Flames is by no means YA. This is a series that always toed the line but A Court of Silver Flames is STEAMY. And, you’ll probably want to throw away any expectations following A Court of Frost and Starlight because this wasn’t the book I thought it would be. Months have passed since that fateful solstice and the rumbling in the camps have already been resolved off page.

But, that only means that A Court of Silver Flames is never predictable. I mean, by the midpoint, this book could have gone ANYWHERE and I loved that I was always left guessing.

A Court of Silver Flames sure as heck doesn’t waste any time. Right off the bat we’re thrown straight in to the court politics so if you find your memory’s a little rusty I’d consider re-reading the original books first. There’s plenty of old familiar faces but Sarah J Maas also introduces some new characters which work to add a new dynamic to the very much beloved series. You can definitely tell the world of Prythian is expanding and I can’t wait to see where Sarah takes us next.

Anyway, A Court of Silver Flames is Nesta’s book. Now, I’ve never really been a huge fan of Nesta Acheron. Nesta is spiteful, vindictive and selfish – I was honestly weary of reading an entire novel from her point of view. But, trust me when I say there’s absolutely no need to worry. By the end of it all, Nesta is sure to become your new favorite character. And her dynamic with Emerie and Gwyn is EVERYTHING.

Speaking of, I loved the focus on friendship and female dynamics because honestly, it’s so empowering. From the very first moment we met Emerie in A Court of Frost and Starlight I knew she was going to be a favorite – and I wasn’t wrong. But putting Emerie, Gwyn and Nesta together? Freaking ICONIC. Literally the stuff of legends. These three females claw their way out of their dark, traumatic pasts, helping each other heal and find acceptance. It was so beautiful to watch their relationship develop and honestly, I think their bond surpassed that of any other SJM friendship.

And don’t even get me started on Nesta’s relationship with Cassian because HOLY FREAKING SHIT THEY’RE MY NEW FAVORITE SJM COUPLE. Cassian’s patience and willingness to be whatever Nesta needed was so refreshing and sweet. And it’s developed oh so slowly which keeps those pages turning.

Another thing, I really appreciated was how ~adult~ A Court of Silver Flames felt.  I mean, it was VERY hot and heavy and I was 100% here for it. Especially because I love the idea of Nesta going for what she wanted.

But, as much as I loved A Court of Silver Flames I did have a couple of issues with it. [And this is a serious first because I’m usually singing nothing but praise for Sarah J. Maas].

First of all, this book kind of puts a dampener on the Inner Circle. Everyone felt as though they were acting out of character and some actually… annoyed me? *Clutches peals*. Maybe it’s because we were in Nesta’s head, but one character in particular came across as especially toxic and aggressive.

The other issue I had was the final act. Without going into spoilers, I just wanted more.

A Court of Silver Flames is a LONG book but said final act felt rushed. Like Sarah J. Maas suddenly had to sum everything up in a hundred pages. Nesta’s journey builds towards an earth shattering climax, and I would have loved another hundred pages detailing that thing with Emerie and Gwyn. I mean, GIVE ME THOSE DETAILS! PLUNGE ME STRAIGHT INTO THE ACTION!

But semantics – A Court of Silver Flames is still EPIC.

Compared to the other novels in the series, A Court of Silver Flames definitely felt more character driven and you can really tell that Sarah J. Maas pulled from some of her own experiences with mental health. There’s still plenty of action and politics but the narrative really focuses on Nesta and her journey of healing. Nesta despises herself and it gets dark. But that’s what makes this book so beautiful – the focus on self-love, forgiveness and overcoming trauma.

In the end, A Court of Silver Flames was an amazing journey and definitely worth the wait. BUT it didn’t ~exactly~ live up to my expectations and it didn’t emotionally destroy me like I wanted it to. Which is why I had to knock off half a star. Is it my favorite book by Sarah J. Maas? Unfortunately no. Am I sad it’s over? Sure, but I haven’t left with a raging hangover like I did with Crescent City. That said, A Court of Silver Flames will always hold a special place for it’s mental health representation alone and I cannot wait to see how the rest of this series evolves with these characters.

Also, be on the lookout for a brief sort-of cameo. Blink and you’ll miss it [if you know you know]. 😉

13 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

  1. LOVE this review! A Court of Silver Flames was ultimately a 5 star read for me because I’ve loved Nesta from the beginning, but I 100% agree Rhys came off utlra agressive and protective (I still don’t really understand for Feyre didn’t figure out he was keeping something from her…) and the ending did feel rushed considered the entirety of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AHHHHHH, SO GLAD YOU LOVED A COURT OF SILVER FLAMES TOO! Honestly such an epic book – Sarah did it again. I really wish I could have given it a full five stars but alas, it just wasn’t meant to be. I probably could have forgiven the flaws but it’s the first SJM book to not set off either a slump or hangover… The fact that I was able to close that final page and not feel Nesta’s story linger told me there was something missing. That said, I still LOVED every minuet of Nesta’s grueling journey while reading.

      Thank you for reading! 💙

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks so much for reading my review – I always LOVE reading your SJM reviews! I totally understand your rating. I think SJM is one of the few authors for me where I don’t approach her books with a review/rating mindset because I just love them so much. Happy reading!!

        Like

  2. ALEXANDRA HI I’m back pls prepare for comment spam ❤

    I'm so glad you liked this book! I love seeing how excited you get about SJM and I'm so glad this lived up to your expectations ❤ ❤ I've never been a huge fan of Nesta's either so I'm glad you warmed up to her!! And eek Nesta and Cassian sound so amazing! I read the original trilogy years ago and I liked it then but since then I've kinda been more like eeeh idk if I actually liked it that much in hindsight or was I just jumping on the bandwagon lol you know so I'm still unsure if I'm actually going to continue and read this book. buuuut your excitement for it is getting me excited about it so maybe I should?? probably I'll wait for summer though when I'm off school not sure I'm up for this beast right now haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • AHHHHHHH I’M SO READY – BRING ON THE SPAM! [Just please bare with me because I am already like two months behind on answering comments. Mental health will do that to you :/ ].

      I’ll be real, going into A Court of Silver Flames I was ~weary~. I really didn’t like Nesta. I understood her pain and grief but she was just so selfish and nasty. There was a high chance that A Court of Silver Flames would miss the mark. Thank goodness it didn’t! *Phew*.

      A Court of Silver Flames feels very ~different~ from the original series. You can honestly feel the world [and stakes] expanding with the characters. I’m a firm believer it’s worth the read. Especially because I promise Emerie and Gwyn will become your favorite characters. And the romance is honestly *chef’s kiss*.

      Feel free to send me chapterly updates and spam if you do end up picking it up! 🙂 💙

      Like

  3. So glad you enjoyed this book. I was so hesitant, but it’s really up there for me with ACOMAF. The format of this book just worked to my tastes for so many reasons. The trajectory of the romance namely… but I also live for SJMs tortured characters and how it ties into their powers. I also loved how Nesta was SO powerful and her powers suited her so well too.

    100% with you on the female friendships aspect of this story. Empowered woman, empower women!!! 💖 I was absolutely LIVING for everything during the Blood Rite too.

    Now… do we get a story from Elaine’s POV… I wouldn’t mind exploring something between her and Lucien!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OH MY GOD THIS BOOK WAS EVERYTHING. I LOVED loved loved Cassian and Nesta!! like yass they were so good together and the CHEMISTRY omg *fans face* also the female friendships were so golden in this totally agree – and if we dont see Gwyn and Emmerie in the next books im going to die. Also agree the ending did feel a tad rushed. Like i just wanted a little bit more?? Especially a little extra moment between Cassian and Nesta so they could just revel in one another a bit more?? But also maybe that just me never getting enough from one of SJM books. Awesome review lovely 🙂

    Like

  5. Love this review and 100% agree with literally every single thing you said. I totally agree that the final act with the blood rite felt very rushed and just didn’t satisfy me as much as I was expecting. Other than that, I went into this book seeing a lot of potential in Nesta, and I loved her more after. I loved seeing the inner circle from Nesta’s perspective and I love how you kind of get to see the flaws of their dynamic. I think the problem is that we saw the inner circle so much from Feyre’s perspective and Feyre never criticizes them in the narrative and now we are seeing a more critical view which can feel more jarring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank goodness I’m not the only one! Haha! I honestly wanted the Hunger Games 2.0 – lots of conflict and drama and edge-of-your-seat-action. I just felt the Rite was over and done with WAY too quick.

      But you’re so right about seeing the Inner Circle from Nesta’s perspective and the most critical view. I think I forgot that Feyre’s perspective is biased and though I’m super protective of my babies, they’re not perfect. I think I just wasn’t ready to see them painted in such an honest light haha! It will be interesting to see how my opinions change with a re-read.n

      But thank you so much for reading my review! 💙

      Like

  6. Loved all the books but the ending of this one did seem a little rushed; there were waaaay too many things left unanswered, so I’m hoping there’s going to be another book in this series..I mean Beron? Koschei? Mor’s side of the day in the forest with Eris…? Vassa? Jurian? ….Uh more please.

    Like

Leave a comment