The Awesome Blogger Award [Take 2]

Reading By Starlight Award Banner (5).png

Guess who’s back again for round two? That’s right, today I’ve been nominated by Daria for the Awesome Blogger Award. Yet again! I have to send a big virtual hug to Daria for the tag. Daria’s blog is full of wit, sass and plenty of GIFs. Her posts always brighten my day so I would really appreciate it if you could show her some love over at Bookaholic’s Therapy. Thanks again, Daria! ❤

The Awesome Blogger Award was originally created by Maggie from Dreaming of GuatemalaThis award celebrates “wonderful writers all across the blogging world”. It’s a nod to awesome bloggers alike – people whose blogs are beautiful and kind.

Now, on to Daria’s questions;

Body Text_

☆ Thank the blogger who nominated you
☆ Tag this post with #awesomebloggeraward
☆ Answer all the questions given to you
☆ Nominate 5 people and let them know
☆ Write 10 questions for them to answer

Body Text_ (1)

1. Do you write (stories/poems)?

While I don’t write poems I most definitely write stories. Well, I try to anyway. I think my stories are a little too ambitious for their own good because I always end up hitting road blocks. Currently I have multiple ideas for a couple of different books. I’ve got about four works in progress, each at different stages of drafting. I’ve got a high fantasy about an entitled, very much dethroned princess who, after escaping the gallows and running away, learns to step up and fight for her kingdom (there may or may not be a ruff and rugged Robin Hood type for a love interest). My most ambitious yet (probably the draft I’m having the most trouble with) is a period adventure novel (partly inspired by Indiana Jones and the Mummy) set along the rivers of the jungle.

jane porter disney | Tumblr (With images) | Disney, Jane porter ...

2. Who’s a character you really relate to?

I feel like I’ve been saying this a lot lately but I’ve always really related to Bella Swan. I’ve said it before but as a teenager, I was dealing with a lot. I grew up in a small town with an abusive father. Suffice to say it was not a fun time. Not only was Forks a place I escaped to often, but I saw myself reflected in Bella’s struggles. I related to her awkwardness, her insecurities of not feeling “normal” and the fact that she didn’t relate well to people. Then there was the whole mother-daughter-role-reversal thing. Like Bella, I felt responsible for looking after my mum. At the time, I felt I had to be the adult.

3. Do you enjoy old movies?

I actually LOVE old movies! As an aspiring actress and a film student, I love the sweeping elegance of the old Hollywood epics – you just can’t beat the romance of Gone with the Wind. I inherited my taste from my mum who’s icon has always been Audrey Hepburn. My Mum’s favorite has always been Breakfast at Tiffany’s, mine Roman Holiday and Sabrina.

I also love the wholesome, almost comforting vibe of the classics. Whenever I’m feeling lonely, or in need of a pick-me-up, you can always find me watching Meet Me In St. Louis, the Wizard of Oz, Mary Poppins, or Rodger and Hammerstein’s musicals. I also love the Sound of Music, which my mum got me into [I also may or may not have a thing for Christopher Plumber] and I’m more than slightly obsessed with Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. It’s been a favorite of mine since I was three years old. My mum even made me a Truly Scrumptious Edwardian-style hat with ribbon trim and tulle. Three year old Alexandra refused to take said hat off. I wore it EVERYWHERE and I still have it.

What do you see? You people gazing at me? You see a doll on a ...

4. What’s a song that makes you cry?

Okay, this one is super personal so I’m not going to get into why but Tiny Dancer by Elton John always makes me cry. I’m talking gut-wrenching-snot-crying.

5. How often do you buy books?

I usually only splurge on a couple of hauls a year. You know, Christmas, birthday and what-not. I’m a responsible adult.

I buy books every other freaking week because I have a serious problem. At least it’s not drugs, right?

Gifts From Barnes & Noble For Everything On Your List

6. Do you prefer physical shopping or online shopping?

Physical shopping where I can. I love retail therapy – especially bookish retail therapy. There’s nothing like browsing the stacks at your local bookshop and finding that book you’d been looking for. Also, Melbourne has some of the best shopping in Australia. Probably even the world. Just saying.

7. What’s your favorite thing about blogging?

Meeting so many bookish friends and finding MY people! You guys are the actual best and interacting with you in the comments always makes my day. I love raving about bookish couples or swapping stories – I’ve made so many lifelong friends through Reading by Starlight.

disney gif | Tumblr shared by may on We Heart It

8. Do you care about blog stats?

Yes and no. I would be lying if I said I didn’t get excited when I see that a particular post is popular. That being said, I try not to get caught up in the stats because that’s not why I write. Reading by Starlight is first and foremost a passion project. I write because I love to – writing is cathartic for me and I need to channel my thoughts into some sort of outlet. It’s my experience that when you write what you’re passionate about just for the fun of it, the stats will take care of themselves.

9. What’s one thing you learned from blogging?

Having a blog is basically the equivalent of making like Elsa and setting off into the unknown on a journey of self-discovery. No joke. I’ve learnt that writing then posting it for anyone to scrutinize takes a lot of courage. I bleed my soul into everything I write – you’ll notice I’m not afraid to get personal. We only have one life and I want to make my mark, leave something behind that says “Alexandra was here”. Expressing your opinions, raising your voice matters.

never stop being a kid — Find who is calling to you… into the ...

10. How do you find time to blog?

Well for starters, self isolation and social distancing helps. A lot. Just kidding. Look, it’s hard to find time while also keeping that healthy balance. With work, blogging and living independently spare time is scarce so you’ve got to prioritize and use whatever time you can. For the most part, I just write when I can. Or when I’m on a creative high. It does help to build a stockpile of posts. Not only will a stockpile take the pressure off, but you’ll be able to edit from a fresh perspective.

Body Text_ (2)

Siobhan | Octavia | Jamie | Julie | YOU

Body Text_ (1)

☆ What’s a trashy book you’re low key obsessed with?
☆ Who’s you’re favorite Disney Prince? What makes him your favorite?
☆ Congratulations – you’ve just won the lottery! What will you spend your winnings on?
☆ If you had a boat [any sort of boat] what would you name it?
☆ What’s the best thing you’ve gotten away with?
☆ Would you rather be an antihero or an antivillain?
☆ This is it – the world is ending tomorrow. What’s the last book you read?
☆ If you could be a supporting character in any movie what movie would you pick? What’s your role?
☆ Kiss, marry, kill – pick three celebrities.
☆ Would you rather live in a house by the sea, a cottage deep in the woods or a townhouse right in the heart of the city?

Alexandra

21 thoughts on “The Awesome Blogger Award [Take 2]

  1. Great answers! I love old movies too. I’m a bit obsessed with Hitchcock movies, but I also love Sabrina and Roman Holiday. Charade is another fabulous one! Thanks so much for the tag!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for tagging me, Alexandra! I loved getting to know you more through your answers to Daria’s questions. I totally relate to buying books literally every other week… I’ve got issues. But you’re right: better than drugs! And retail therapy is the BEST kind of therapy. Period.

    I’m super excited to answer your questions on my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I mean at this point I should no longer be surprised that we’re so similar in so many ways BUT ALEXANDRA WHEN I USED TO WRITE I WAS THE SAME!! I’d start writing something, then get an idea for a new novel & abandon the first to start working on the 2nd, and so on and so forth 😂 Suffice to say I never finished ANY of them 🙊

    HAHAHA that’s the same argument I used to give to my parents when they complained that I bought too many books – “um, at least it’s not DRUGS???” 🤷🏻‍♀️ Bc that’s the only 2 options – money or drugs 😂 Totally agree with you about Melbs – I LOVE shopping at the independent bookstores when I’m there 😍

    Like

  4. I LOVE old movies too!! Breakfast at Tiffany’s is for sure one of my all time fav old movies, I just love Audrey hepner 😍 and I think I always have a story idea floating around in my head lol. I write some poetry but nothing all that great 😂 I’m also a fan of physical shopping… I just love seeing all the things IN PERSON (however now online shopping has become my new friend since COVID 19) great answers and thanks so much for the tag Alexandra 💛💛

    Like

    • It’s such a classic! I was lucky enough to get the walk around the set in Paramount Studios. Suffice to say I felt VERY glamorous! My mum and I also had our “breakfast” at the front of the New York store too because my mum is a MAJOR stan.

      Any time, Jamie – I’ll be keeping my eyes pealed for your answers! 💙 x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Omg you have four stories in the works; that’s incredible!!! And the two that you’ve mentioned sound amazing 😍 I’m so intrigued by this princess.
    I’m so sorry to hear about your past experiences.
    Also you should definitely share a picture of your Truly Scrumptious hat on your blog sometime!! It would be awesome to see. I saw some sewing patterns for costume hats once and was so tempted to get them (because they did look pretty awesome) but I somehow doubted I could make one 😂
    And I’m terrible at buying books too!! It wouldn’t be so bad if I was reading more atm. I’m hoping to change that soon though as I do really want to read more, like I used to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwww, thank you so much. You’ve just given me even more drive to write. Hopefully, I’ll have my stories out in the wide world soon.

      I’ve just now realized that with my rose hued glasses, I’ve talked my Truly Scrumptious hat up a bit… While it’s a treasure to me it’s honestly not all that flash. 😅 Really my mum bought a wide brimmed straw hat and embellished it. [Although making a hat from scratch sounds amazing!] Mum added her own trims; a pale pink ribbon around the brim and gathered tulle which she sewed onto the ribbon. The final flare was this tulle she found, embroiled with little dots that she had cascading from the brim which fell over my face like a veil. It’s about 20 years old now so it’s a little worse for wear but I’ll upload a photo sometime. 💙

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yay that’s wonderful!!

        Aww that does still sound fantastic though, especially the bit that comes down like a veil. And it sounds like she put a lot of work into it. I’ll keep an eye out for the picture ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment