If You Like That, Try This: Recommendations for Mood Readers

Reading By Starlight Review Banner (38).png

A reader is faced with many struggles – it’s not an easy life. Key word here being life because spoiler alert: reading isn’t a hobby. It’s a life style.

There’s book hangovers and their evil counterparts; book slumps. There’s the fact that we set overly ambitious – and seriously achievable – reading challenges. And let’s not even mention the constant strain from the crushing weight of our TBR piles.

So yeah, we readers have a lot to deal with but nothing compares to the struggles of being a mood reader.

Hi, my name is Alexandra and I’m a mood reader *waves*.

Text Divider

For all my non mood readers out there, being a mood reader means your mood dictates what you read. Basically, it’s a mood dictatorship. Also we’re hopeless at sticking to our TBRs. Don’t even talk to us about that.

But TBRs [or lack there of] aside, probably the most frustrating aspect of being a mood  reader is that feeling when you read a book and have absolutely no freaking idea what to read next. Especially if you’re in a sort-of book hangover. You find yourself in need of a new book that’ll satisfy your post hangover cravings – maybe something with the same vibe as the book in question. Or, I guess you could just re-read said book but where’s the fun in that?

Well let me tell you, worry no more because I’ve done the hard yards for you. Behold – a comprehensive list of recommendations based off your favorite bestselling vibe-y books. I’ve got a mix of high fantasy, science fiction, historical fiction and contemporary recommendations. You might find a hidden gem or better yet; you’ll never have to worry about that next read ever again.

So let’s get into the recommendations…

If you loved the whimsy magic of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus try Caraval by Stephanie Garber or Enchantée by Gita TreleaseRecomendations (3)

If you love Laini Taylor’s sweeping fantasy Strange the Dreamer or stories about stories try Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson or the Starless Sea by Erin MorgensternIf you loved strange the dreamer

If you loved Roar by Cora Carmack and immersive, atmospheric world building try Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett or Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser

of If you loved Outlander (1).png

If you loved the ruthless high fantasy world of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass try the Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson or Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Copy of Copy of If you loved a court of thorns and roses.png

If fae and fairies are your thing and you obsessed over Sarah J. Maas’s a Court of Thorns and Roses try the Cruel Prince by Holly Black or An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

_If you loved Roar.png

If you love the idea of terraformed worlds and These Broken Stars by Aime Kaufman & Meagan Spooner try Across the Universe by Beth Revis or Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine & Ann Aguirre 

If you loved fangirl

If space travel or squads are your thing and you loved Skyward by Brandon Sanderson try Zenith by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings or Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston_If you loved Roar (1).png

If you loved Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander or the romance of time travel try Passenger by Alexandra Bracken or A Discover of Witches by Deborah Harkness

If you loved fangirl (1).png

If you loved stalking Cassandra Clare’s gas lit Victorian London with Clockwork Angel try Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco or Something Strange and Deadly by Susan DennardCopy of Copy of Recomendations

If you loved Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl and awkward bookish protagonists try the Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman or Again, But Better by Christine Riccio

If you loved fangirl (2).png

If you loved the enemies-to-lovers romance of Sally Thorne’s the Hating Game try the Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren or Well Met by Jen DeLuca_If you loved Roar (2).pngAlexandra

Advertisement

5 thoughts on “If You Like That, Try This: Recommendations for Mood Readers

  1. Clockwork Angel and Stalking Jack the Ripper have that vibe….I might have to check out A Discovery of Witches since I loved Outlander. And yesss to Strange the Dreamer, Socery of Thorns, and The Starless Sea. Those are all super high on my TBR. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Vanessa! I loved A Discovery of Witches when I read it this year (it was an easy 5 star read for me) but it’s not for everyone. I would just say be prepared by a slow-burn but intriguing plot full of mystery and bookish vibes. I reads a lot like Outlander and Passenger in the way that a lot is going on but it’s descriptive. I would recommend watching the series first to get a taste for the world – that’s what I did. Happy reading! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s